Champlain Resource Guide: MLA

Author’s LastName, FirstName. Title of the Book. City of publication, Publisher, year.

Note, City of publication (p. 51): Only include the city of publication if:

• The book was published before 1900.
• The publisher has offices in more than one country and may have published multiple versions of the book (i.e. British version vs. American version).
• The publisher is unfamiliar and located outside of North America.

Johnson, Roberta. Gender and Nation in the Spanish Modernist Novel. Vanderbilt UP, 2003.

Note: Vanderbilt UP stands for Vanderbilt University Press. See below for publisher abbreviation.

AuthorA’s LastName, FirstName, and AuthorB's FirstName LastName. Title of the Book. City of publication*, Publisher, year.

Note: List the authors in the order they are found on the source. The first name listed should be formatted, Last Name, First Name, but the second name should be listed First Name Last Name.

Eggins, Suzanne, and Diana Slade. Analysing Casual Conversation. London, Cassell, 1997.

Author’s LastName, FirstName, et al. Title of the Book. City of publication*, Publisher, year.

Note: If the source has 3 authors or more, only list the first author's name, followed by et al.

Plag, Ingo, et al. Introduction to English Linguistics. Berlin, Mouton, 2007.

Editor’s LastName, FirstName, editor. Title of the Book. City of publication*, Publisher, year.

Single editor:

Kelvin, Norman, editor. The Collected Letters of William Morris. Princeton UP, 1984.

Multiple editors:

Edelstein, Ludwig, and I. G. Kidd, editors. Posidonius. Cambridge UP, 1989.

TranslatorA’s LastName, FirstName, and TranslatorB's FirstName LastName, translators. Title of the Book. By Author's FirstName LastName, City of publication*, Publisher, year.

Aronoff, Phyllis, and Howard Scott, translators. The Social History of Ideas in Quebec, 1760-1896. By Yvan Lamonde, McGill-Queen's UP, 2013.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of Chapter, Essay, Poem, Story." Title of Book, edited by Editor's FirstName LastName, Publisher, year, pp. ##-##.

Franco, Veronica. “To the Painter Jacopo Tintoretto.” Poems and Selected Letters, edited by Ann Rosalind Jones and Margaret Rosenthal, U of Chicago P, 1998, pp. 35-37.

Corporate author. Title of the Book. City of publication*, Publisher, year.

National Research Council. Beyond Six Billion: Forecasting the World’s Population. National Academies P, 2000.

Note: When the author and publisher are identical, start the reference with the title and only list the organization as the publisher.

Reading at Risk: A Survey of Literary Reading in America. National Endowment for the Arts, June 2004.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of entry." Title of Encyclopedia/Dictionary, edited by Editor's FirstName LastName, vol. # or # ed., Publisher, year, pp. ##-##.

Note: For an encyclopedia without an author, start the Work Cited entry with the title of the article, followed by the date, etc.).

"Title of entry." Title of Encyclopedia/Dictionary, edited by Editor's FirstName LastName, vol. # or # ed., Publisher, year, pp. ##-##.

Note: For an encyclopedia without an author or editor, start the Work Cited entry with the title of the article, followed by the date, etc.).

"Title of entry." Title of Encyclopedia/Dictionary, vol. # or # ed., Publisher, year, pp. ##-##.

Known Author & Editor

Johnson, William A. "Books." The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome, edited by Michael Gagarin, vol. 2, Oxford UP, 2010, pp. 16-18.

Unknown Author, with editor

"Book." The Penguin English Dictionary, edited by Robert Allen, 2nd ed., Penguin Books, 2003, p. 154.

Author’s LastName, FirstName. Title of the Book. Publisher, year. title of website/database, URL*/DOI.

Note: If you access an eBook using a software on your personal device, then cite the book like so:

Author’s LastName, FirstName. Title of the Book. Kindle/EPUB/etc. ed., Publisher, year.

Bru, Sascha, et al. Literature Now: Key Terms and Methods for Literary History. Edinburgh UP, 2016. eBook Academic Collection, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1424323&site=ehost-live.

Schiraldi, Glenn R. The Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder Sourcebook: A Guide to Healing, Recovery, and Growth. Adobe Digital ed., McGraw-Hill Education, 2001.

AuthorA’s LastName, FirstName. "Title of Article." Title of the Journal, vol. #, no. #, date, pp. ##-##.

Baron, Naomi S. “Redefining Reading: The Impact of Digital Communications Media.” PMLA, vol. 128, no. 1, Jan. 2013, pp. 193-200.

AuthorA’s LastName, FirstName, and AuthorB's FirstName LastName. "Title of Article." Title of the Journal, vol. #, no. #, date, pp. ##-##.

Note: List the authors in the order they are found on the source. The first name listed should be formatted, Last Name, First Name, but the second name should be listed First Name Last Name.

Brueggeman, Brenda Jo, and Debra A. Moddelmog. “Coming-Out Pedagogy: Risking Identity in Language and Literature Classrooms.” Pedagogy, vol. 2, no. 3, 2002, pp. 311-35.

AuthorA’s LastName, FirstName, et al. "Title of Article." Title of the Journal, vol. #, no. #, date, pp. ##-##.

Note: If the source has 3 authors or more, only list the first author's name, followed by et al.

Wolchick, Sharlene A., et al. “An Experimental Evaluation of Theory-Based Mother and Mother-Child Programs for Children of Divorce.” Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, vol. 68, no. 5, 2000, pp. 843-56.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Newspaper/Magazine, Day Month. Year, pp. ##-##.

Gulli, Cathy. "It's All in Your Head." Maclean's, 18 May 2009, pp. 26-28.

Note: If you're citing a locally published newspaper, you should include the city of publication in square brackets after the news source. You do not need to include the city of publication if the newspaper is published nationally or if the location is mentioned in the title of the newspaper.

McClure, Taylor. “We Bleed Purple: The History of Bishop's University.” The Record [Sherbrooke], 12 July 2019, p. A7.

"Title of the Article." Title of the Newspaper/Magazine/Journal, Day Month. Year, pp. ##-##.

"Where Angels No Longer Fear to Tread." Economist, 22 Mar. 2008, pp. 89-91.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Journal, vol. #, no. #, Day Month. Year, pp. ##-##. Database/Website, doi:xx.xxxx/xxxxxxxx.

Piper, Andrew. "Rethinking the Print Object: Goethe and the Book of Everything." PMLA, vol. 121, no. 1, 2006, pp. 124-38. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1632/003081206X96131.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Journal, vol. #, no. #, Day Month. Year, pp. ##-##. Database/Website, URL*.

Note: If the database provides you with a stable URL or a permalink, use that URL in your reference.

Note: The accessed date is not required, but you should consider if an accessed date will help the reader. If it will, you should include it.

Tolston, Nancy. “Making Books Available: The Role of Early Libraries, Librarians, and Booksellers in the Promotion of African American Children’s Literature.” African American Review, vol. 32, no. 1, Spring 1998, pp. 9-16. JSTOR. www.jstor.org/stable/3042263. Accessed 27 May 2009.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Newspaper/Magazine, Day Month. Year, URL*. Accessed Day Month. Year.

Note: Include the accessed date to better help the reader find the source.

Note: If there is an updated date, it is recommended that you use that date rather than the originally published date.

Note: If you're citing a locally published newspaper, you should include the city of publication in square brackets after the news source. You do not need to include if the newspaper is published nationally or if the location is mentioned in the title of the newspaper.

Green, Joshua. “The Rove Presidency.” The Atlantic, Sept. 2007, www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2007/09/the-rove-presidency/306132/. Accessed 7 July 2019.

Hackett, Emily. “On the Pursuit of Hoppiness: Bishop’s Arches Brewery Beer to Hit the Shelves.” The Record [Sherbrooke], 18 Dec. 2018, www.sherbrookerecord.com/on-the-pursuit-of-hoppiness-bishops-arches-brewery-beer-to-hit-the-shelves/. Accessed 7 July 2019.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Newspaper/Magazine, Day Month. Year, pp. ##-##. Database Name, DOI or URL*. Accessed Day Month. Year.

Lambie, Gordon. "The Long-Awaited Learning Commons Opens its Doors." The Record [Sherbrooke], 23 Aug. 2018, p. A.5. Canadian Newsstream, www.ubishops.ca:2048/docview/2092513395?accountid=8636. Accessed 10 July 2019.

Director's LastName, FirstName, director. Title of Movie/Film, Production Company, year.

Jenkin, Barry, director. Moonlight, A24, 2016.

Note: If you are focusing on an individual’s performance in or contributions to the television series, start the citation with that individual’s name.

Creator’s LastName, FirstName, creator. Television Series Title. Production Company, years.

Actor’s LastName, FirstName, performer. Television Series Title. Production Company, years.

Note: If you are citing a television series without focusing on an individual’s contributions to the work, begin the citation with the title of the series. Following the title of the television series, you can include choose to include key participants.

Television Series Title. Created by Creator's FirstName LastName, performance by Actor's FirstName LastName, Production Company, years.

Daniels, Greg, & Michael Schur, creators. Parks and Recreation. Open 4 Business, 2009-2015.

Poehler, Amy, performer. Parks and Recreation. Open 4 Business, 2009-2015.

Parks and Recreation. Created by Greg Daniels & Michael Schur, performance by Amy Poehler, Open 4 Business, 2009-2015.

"Episode Title." Television Series Title, Production Company, date.

Note: If you are citing an episode, you may want to include performers and contributors that are relevant to your paper. For example, if you are focusing on a character, you should include the actor who portrays that character and the series creator who created that character.

"Episode Title." Television Series Title, created by Creator's FirstName LastName, performance by Actor's FirstName LastName, Network or Distributor, year.

"The One with the Rumor." Friends, season 8, episode 9, NBC, 22 Nov. 2001.

Note: If you are viewing the episode on a DVD, you should include the DVD distributor, the DVD’s release date, and disc number (p. 49).

"The One with the Rumor." Friends, created by Marta Kauffman & David Crane, performance by Jennifer Aniston, season 8, episode 9, Warner Home Video, 2004, disc 2.

Note: If you are viewing the episode streaming online, you should include the streaming service and link (p. 33).

"The One with the Rumor." Friends, created by Marta Kauffman & David Crane, performance by Jennifer Aniston, season 8, episode 9, NBC, 22 Nov. 2001. Netflix, www.netflix.com.

Artist/Band. "Song Title." Title of Album, Label/Producing Company, year, medium/format type.

Note: For medium/format type, you should identify if you accessed the song through a CD, Vinyl record etc. If you accessed the song online, then you should include the URL in place of the medium/format.

Journey. "Don't Stop Believin'." Escape, Columbia, 1981, CD.

Journey. "Don't Stop Believin'." Escape, Columbia, 1981, open.spotify.com/track/4bHsxqR3GMrXTxEPLuK5ue.

Author's LastName, FirstName. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia/Dictionary, edited by Editor's FirstName LastName, # ed., vol. #, Publisher, year, pp. ##-##. Name of Database, URL*. Accessed Day Month. Year.

Note: For an encyclopedia entry without an author, start the Work Cited entry with the title of the article, followed by the date, etc.). Identify the encyclopedia’s editor after the entry title (see example below).

Reference entry, author

Kesteman, Jean-Pierre. "Sherbrooke." The Canadian Encyclopedia, 4 Jan. 2007, Historica Canada. www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/sherbrooke. Accessed 10 July 2019.

Note: If there is an updated date, it is recommended that you use that date rather than the originally published date.

Reference entry, no author

"Book." Britannica Academic, 8 Apr. 2019, Encyclopædia Britannica. academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/book/80651. Accessed 10 July 2019.

Author's LastName, FirstName. Title of the Website. Date of publication Day Month. Year, URL*. Accessed Day Month. Year.

McKnight, Eliza. Sociology Research Guide: Where to Start. 20 Aug. 2018, ubishops.libguides.com/sociology. Accessed 10 July 2018.

Title of Webpage. URL*. Accessed Day, Month. Year.

Note: If you are able to infer a possible date of publication but you are unsure of its accuracy, you can place the date in square brackets with a question mark, e.g. Title of Webpage. [2008?], www...

Welcome to the Library. www.welcometothelibrary.ca/home. Accessed 12 July 2019.

Instructor’s LastName, FirstName. “Title of Lecture.” Course Title, Day, Month. Year, College/University, Location. Lecture.

Bromby, Daniel. “Plagiarism and Citing Sources.” ILT104: Information Retrieval and Evaluation Skills for the Social Sciences, 24 Sept. 2019, Bishop’s University, Sherbrooke, QC. Lecture.

Note: If there is no title for the lecture, you can leave it out.

Bromby, Daniel. ILT104: Information Retrieval and Evaluation Skills for the Social Sciences, 24 Sept. 2019, Bishop’s University, Sherbrooke, QC. Lecture.

Instructor’s LastName, FirstName. “Title of Slides/Notes/Handouts.” Course Title, Day, Month. Year, College/University, Location. Material Type.

Heath, Sarah. “ILT100: Week 3: Plagiarism and Citing Sources.” ILT100: Information Literacy and Critical Thinking, 25 Sept. 2019, Bishop’s University, Sherbrooke, QC. Microsoft PowerPoint presentation.

Thorneloe, Karen. “Plagiarism FAQs.” ILT102: Information Retrieval and Evaluation Skills for the Humanities, 24 Sept. 2019, Bishop’s University, Sherbrooke, QC. Course handout.

Note: You should consult with your instructor about how they want material in a course pack cited. They should decide if they want the material to be cited using the course pack as the source or cited using the materials’ original source. If they ask you to cite the course pack as the source, cite it as you see below. If you cannot get guidance from your instructor about how they want the course pack cited, cite the original source of the material.

Author’s LastName, FirstName. “Title of Work.” Course pack for CourseCode: Name of Course, complied by Instructors FirstName LastName, Semester Year, University.

O'Kelly, Mary. “Community Success: Rethinking Public Services in Academic Libraries.” Course pack for ILT104: Information Literacy and Critical Thinking, complied by Kiersten Bradley, Winter 2020, Bishop’s U.

Reviewer's LastName, FirstName. Review of Title of the Book, by Author's FirstName LastName. Journal Title, Day Month. Year, DOI or URL*.

Mackin, Joseph. Review of The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction, by Alan Jacobs. New York Journal of Books, 2 June 2011, www.nyjournalofbooks.com/book-review/pleasures-reading-age-distraction.