The Book of Greek and Roman Folktales, Legends, and Myths by
The first anthology ever to present the entire range of ancient Greek and Roman stories--from myths and fairy tales to jokes Captured centaurs and satyrs, talking animals, people who suddenly change sex, men who give birth, the temporarily insane and the permanently thick-witted, delicate sensualists, incompetent seers, a woman who remembers too much, a man who cannot laugh--these are just some of the colorful characters who feature in the unforgettable stories that ancient Greeks and Romans told in their daily lives. Together they created an incredibly rich body of popular oral stories that include, but range well beyond, mythology--from heroic legends, fairy tales, and fables to ghost stories, urban legends, and jokes. This unique anthology presents the largest collection of these tales ever assembled. Featuring nearly four hundred stories in authoritative and highly readable translations, this is the first book to offer a representative selection of the entire range of traditional classical storytelling. Set mostly in the world of humans, not gods, these stories focus on figures such as lovers, tricksters, philosophers, merchants, rulers, athletes, artists, and soldiers. The narratives range from the well-known--for example, Cupid and Psyche, Diogenes and his lantern, and the tortoise and the hare--to lesser-known tales that deserve wider attention. Entertaining and fascinating, they offer a unique window into the fantasies, anxieties, humor, and passions of the people who told them. Complete with beautiful illustrations by Glynnis Fawkes, a comprehensive introduction, notes, and more, this one-of-a-kind anthology will delight general readers as well as students of classics, fairy tales, and folklore.
Cosmos by
Since time immemorial, the nocturnal skies have mesmerized us, and heavenly bodies have inspired the imaginations of artists, poets, and scientists. Featuring paintings, sculpture, drawings, watercolors, prints, as well as plates from books, celestial diagrams, and astronomical photography, this book showcases the superstars of the firmament and the universe beyond in sumptuous illustrations. Cosmos: The Art and Science of the Universe charts the human love affair with the heavens in art and astronomy in a story based on sound science and insightful art and cultural history. With thrilling and seductive illustrations, Cosmos recounts in ten lively chapters the fascinating history of the human quest to unlock the mysteries of the universe. Showcasing works of art and new information, interpretations, and amusing anecdotes, this stunning book weaves a rich tapestry of celestial interconnections and our efforts to understand the universe, unveiling the beauty of the cosmos and its compelling story.
Exploring the Solar System with Binoculars by
In this journey of discovery, Stephen James O'Meara shows you how to observe our Solar System's wonders with ease, using nothing more than the unaided eye and inexpensive handheld binoculars. The guide presents a new way to identify and appreciate the wonders of the Solar System in detail, such as lunar and solar eclipses, sunspots, the Moon's craters, the planets, meteors, and comets. It is a unique observing guide for all amateur astronomers, proving you don't need big and expensive equipment to enjoy astronomy from your own backyard. You will learn a variety of skills, including how to find Venus in the daytime, how to identify faint features in bright comets, how to increase your chances of seeing an abundant meteor shower, and how to track the changing aspects of the planets and their moons. A must for Solar System explorers everywhere!
Eyewitness to History by
Civilization's most momentous events come vibrantly alive in this magnificent collection of over three hundred eyewitness accounts spanning twenty-four turbulent centuries--remarkable recollections of battles, atrocities, disasters, coronations, assassinations, and discoveries that shaped the course of history, all related in vivid detail by observers on the scene. Including George Shelvocke personal account of the Solar eclipse in 1724.
The Incredible Incas and Their Timeless Land by
A history of the Inca Empire and its expansion during the 15th and 16th centuries until its conquest by the Spanish under Francisco Pizarro.
Myth by 
Planetary Science: the science of planets around stars by
Since the publication of the popular first edition, stellar and planetary scientists have produced numerous new observations, theories, and interpretations, including the "demotion" of our former ninth planet Pluto as a dwarf planet. Covering all of these new discoveries, Planetary Science: The Science of Planets around Stars, Second Edition explains the science associated with the planets, the stars they orbit, and the interactions between them. It examines the formation, evolution, and death of stars and the properties of the Sun that influence the planets of the Solar System. Along with more problems, this second edition adds new material and improves some analytical treatments. The book consists of two main components. For students unfamiliar with stellar properties or the overall structure of the Solar System, the first part gives a general picture of the system as a whole and the interrelationships of the bodies within it. It presents an overview of the nature of stars and the Solar System as well as important results obtained by scientific analysis. The second component is a set of 43 appendices describing the majority of the underlying science required to explain the main features of the Solar System. These appendices cover a variety of specialized topics, from mineralogy to the mechanical interactions of radiation and matter. End-of-chapter problems give students a quantitative understanding of stellar and solar system phenomena. The text shows how useful estimates of various quantities can be made even when characteristics of the system are not known with any precision. While the problems can be completed with a hand calculator, students are encouraged to use the Fortran computer programs provided on the book's CRC Press web page. Avoiding excessive details, this textbook offers a comprehensive account of stellar and planetary topics. It is suitable for students from a range of disciplines, including astronomy, geology, and earth sciences. The book provides students with an understanding of the nature of the Solar System and the influences that govern its behavior, helping them develop an appreciation of the forces that can influence our planet in the future.
The Arctic Sky by
An exploration of the arctic sky -- its constellations, legends and mythology, the sun, moon, planets, and 'shooting stars, ' as well as atmospheric phenomena such as aurora borealis. Combining interviews with the Inuit elders and the historical records of arctic explorers and other keen observers, The Arctic Sky is a guided tour of the arctic universe.
Anthropology, Folklore, and Myth by 
Color and Light in Nature by
This guide provides clear explanations to all naturally occurring optical phenomena seen with the naked eye, including shadows, halos, water optics, eclipses and mirages. Separating myth from reality, it outlines the basic principles involved, and supports them with many figures and references, and a wealth of rare and spectacular photographs. There are many helpful hints on how best to observe and photograph the phenomena. For this second edition, the authors have added over 50 new images and provided extra material on experiments you can try yourself.
Stargazing Basics by
An introduction to astronomy that provides information on the tools and techniques needed for beginning stargazers, with information on observing objects in the night sky with the naked eye as well as with various pieces of equipment and finding specific objects, including stars, planets, comets, and galaxies.
The Cosmos by
An exciting introduction to astronomy, the fourth edition of this book uses recent discoveries and stunning photography to inspire non-science majors about the universe and science. Each chapter has been fully updated, with more than 200 new images, including recent images from space missions and the world's best observatories. The text is organized as a series of stories, each presenting the history of the field, the observations made and how they fit within the process of science, our current understanding, and what future observations are planned. Math is provided in boxes and easily read around, making the book suitable for courses taking either mathematical or qualitative approaches.
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy by
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy covers this timely and popular topic in a clear, comprehensive manner. Offering a complete presentation of the main concepts, terms, facilities, and people in astronomy, the encyclopedia pays special attention to space-based astronomy and space exploration. Broad coverage includes terms such as astrophysics, planetary science, and cosmology, as well as both American and international astronomy and space technology. Containing 600-700 entries, 10-15 essays, 75-100 line illustrations, and 75-100 black-and-white photographs, this authoritative reference provides students and teachers with a visually stimulating learning experience. Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy focuses mainly on modern astronomy and space achievements but also includes the most important accomplishments of classical astronomy. The impact of astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology is presented in terms of the development of the scientific method and also with respect to philosophy. History-related entries trace the evolution of astronomy and space technology from ancient times, and selected entries discuss important observatories and organizations such as NASA, as well as contemporary events. Entries include absolute zero, brown dwarf, Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Nicholas Copernicus, extraterrestrial, gravitational collapse, lunar rovers, Mars expeditions and surface bases, quantum theory, Uhuru space-craft, and Wernher Von Braun.
Astrophotography for the Amateur by
First published in 1999, this much expanded and updated edition of the best-selling handbook Astrophotography for the Amateur provides a complete guide to taking pictures of stars, galaxies, the Moon, the Sun, comets, meteors and eclipses, using equipment and materials readily available to the hobbyist. In this new edition, the book has been completely revised and now includes new chapters on computer image processing and CCD imaging; expanded advice on choosing cameras and telescopes; completely updated information about the films; a much larger bibliography; and hundreds of new photographs (in colour, and black and white) demonstrating the latest equipment and techniques. Astrophotography for the Amateur has become the standard handbook for all amateur astronomers. This expanded and updated edition provides an ideal introduction for beginners and a complete handbook for advanced amateurs. It will also appeal to photography enthusiasts who can discover how to take spectacular images with only modest equipment.
Celestial Shadows by
Much of what is known about the universe came from the study of celestial shadows. This book looks in detail at the way eclipses and other celestial shadows have given us amazing insights into the nature of the objects in our solar system and how they are even helping us discover and analyze planets that orbit stars other than our Sun.
Eclipse -- Journeys to the Dark Side of the Moon by
On 21 August 2017, over 100 million people will gather in a narrow belt across the USA to witness the most watched total solar eclipse in history. Eclipse - Journeys to the Dark Side of the Moon, written by the widely read popular science author Frank Close, describes the spellbinding allure of this most beautiful natural phenomenon. The book explains why eclipses happen, reveals their role in history, literature and myth, and focuses on eclipse chasers, who travelwith ecstatic fervour to some of the most inaccessible places on the globe to be present at the moment of totality. The book includes the author's quest to solve a 3000 years old mystery: how did the moon move backwards during a total solar eclipse, as claimed in the Book of Joshua?It is an inspirational tale: how a teacher and an eclipse inspired the author, aged eight, to a life in science, and a love affair with eclipses, which takes him to a war zone in the Western Sahara, to the South Pacific and the African bush. The tale comes full circle with another eight-year old boy - the author's grandson - at the 2017 great American eclipse. Readers of all ages will be drawn to this inspirational chronicle of the mesmerizing experience of total solar eclipse.
In the Shadow of the Moon by
From an award-winning author, astronomer, and anthropologist, an exploration of the scientific and cultural significance of the mesmerizing cosmic display. Since the first humans looked up and saw the sun swallowed by darkness, our species has been captivated by solar eclipses. Astronomer and anthropologist Anthony Aveni explains the history and culture surrounding solar eclipses, from prehistoric Stonehenge to Babylonian creation myths, to a confirmation of Einstein's theory of general relativity, to a spectacle that left New York City in the moon's shadow, to future eclipses that will capture human imaginations. In one accessible and engaging read, Aveni explains the science behind the phenomenon, tracks eclipses across the ancient world, and examines the roles of solar eclipses in modern times to reveal the profound effects these cosmic events have had on human history. Colored by his own experiences--Aveni has witnessed eight total solar eclipses in his lifetime--his account of astronomy's most storied phenomenon will enthrall anyone who has looked up at the sky with wonder. "Aveni's authoritative but accessible text is the clearest statement of the way our perception of eclipses has changed over the centuries." --Stuart Clark, New Scientist "Authoritative and engaging." --Marcelo Gleiser, NPR's 13.7 "A recommended way to share the spirit of the occasion." --Laurence A. Marschall, Natural History magazine "Everything you need to enjoy a solar eclipse--and even predict one, just like the Babylonians did! Aveni's entertaining explorations show the very different impacts eclipses have had on past and present cultures." --David DeVorkin, National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution
Totality: eclipses of the sun by
The last chapter of Totality is devoted to the great total eclipse scheduled for July 11, 1991, which will pass across portions of Hawaii, Mexico, Central America, and South America. This book will be a reference handbook for the eclipse as well as a valuable book for those who cannot view the eclipse but need indispensable information on eclipses.
Totality : the great American eclipses of 2017 and 2024 by
A complete guide to solar eclipses for the general public with detailed coverage of the 2017 and 2024 total eclipses over the U.S. Well timed for the August 2017 eclipse over North America, it shows how, when, and where to see the coming total solar eclipses, how to photograph and video record them, and how to do so safely.
A dictionary of physics by
This is the most popular dictionary of physics available, and contains almost 4,000 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts. It also defines many terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. With over 200 new entries and full revision of the existing text, "A Dictionary of Physics" is as essential a reference tool as before. The dictionary is generously illustrated with over 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables and it also contains biographies of important scientists. Recommended web links are also included to provide useful and relevant extra information, and are accessible and kept up to date via the "Dictionary of Physics" companion web page. Appendices include SI units, the solar system, and the electromagnetic spectrum, plus a list of Nobel Prize winners and a chronology of key dates in physics. This fully revised and updated A-Z is an ideal introduction to the subject for anyone with an interest in physics, and it remains an indispensable reference work for students of physics and physics-related subjects (either at school or at university), and professionals.
Total Eclipses of the Sun by
Eclipses have captured attention and sparked curiosity about the cosmos since the first appearance of humankind. Having been blamed for everything from natural disasters to the fall of kings, they are now invaluable tools for understanding many celestial as well as terrestrial phenomena. This clear, easy-to-understand guide explains what causes total eclipses and how they can be used in experiments to examine everything from the dust between the planets to general relativity. A new chapter has been added on the eclipse of July 11, 1991 (the great Hawaiian eclipse). Originally published in 1995. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Call Number: Q 1 .D57
Vol. 45 no. 2 (2024)
Call Number: QB 1 .A7998
Vol. 52 no.4 (2024)
The Right Stuff
The story of how seven cocky pilots became the astronauts of Project Mercury and pioneered America's launch into the space race.
Cosmic Voyage
Combines live action with state-of-the-art computer-generated imagery to pinpoint where humans fit in our ever-expanding universe. Explore scientific theories, some of which have never before been visualized on film, from the birth of the cosmos and solar system to the nature of black holes and exploding supernovas.
2001, A Space Odyssey
A metaphorical depiction of the evolution of humankind through a series of encounters with extraterrestrial black monoliths, from prehistoric times through the space age.
Solaris
Ground control has been receiving strange transmissions from the three remaining residents of the Solaris space station. When cosmonaut and psychologist Kris Kelvin is sent to investigate, he experiences the strange phenomena that afflict the Solaris crew, sending him on a voyage into the darkest recesses of his own consciousness.
From Here to Infinity: the Ultimate Voyage
A guided tour through the universe with Star Trek's Patrick Stewart, showing the planets, a supernova, a blackhole, and the galaxies.
Im Staub der Sterne = In the dust of the stars
The spaceship Cyrno and her crew travel six years to respond to an urgent message for help, but when they arrive at planet TEM 4, the "Temers" deny having sent the message.
Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back
Fleeing the evil Galactic Empire, the rebels abandon their new base on Hoth. Princess Leia, Han Solo, R2-D2 and C-3P0 escape in the damaged Millennium Falcon. Later, on Bespin, they are captured by Lord Darth Vader. Luke Skywalker, meanwhile, follows Ben Kenobi's posthumous command and receives Jedi training by Yoda on Dagobah.
Star Wars IV: A New Hope
Princess Leia is captured and held hostage by the evil Imperial forces in their effort to take over the galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, and two robots (R2-D2 and C-3PO) work together to rescue the princess and restore justice in the Empire.
A Brief History of Time
Explores the mysteries of the universe we've all wondered about in a film set against the backdrop of Stephen Hawking's life story.
Alien
A mindless, savage, and merciless alien is attacking the crew of an intergalactic freighter and it must be stopped before they are all killed.
Aliens
This action-packed sequel to Alien sees Sigourney Weaver returning as Ripley. Ripley is recovering from her first encounter with the deadly Alien. Her account of that event is received with skepticism, but transmissions from a colony later established on the Alien's planet abruptly cease. Burke (Reiser) an up-and-coming Company man talks Ripley into going back with a squad of Colonial Marines. Of course the Marines do not take her warnings seriously either, until they come face-to-face with the awesome Alien spawn.
Understanding the universe : an introduction to astronomy
Alex Filippenko's lectures offer a non-technical description of modern astronomy, including the structure and evolution of planets, stars, galaxies, and the universe as a whole.