Skip to Main Content

Bishop's Resource Guide: Locating Books in the LLC

Research Subject Guides that will help you get access resources relevant to that subject.

Books in the LLC

Sofia can be used to search for items that are available in the LLC.  Click here for how to search using Sofia.

General Collection

General books are located throughout the Library Learning Commons (LLC); however, the majority of our General books are located on the basement floor. Below are the call number locations based on the first letters of the call number:
 
Basement floor:
  • A - KZ 
  • M - PT (except for PS 9000)
  • Oversize
Main floor:
  • L - LT
Second floor:
  • PS 9000
  • Q - Z

 

Gibson Collection 

The Gibson collection is made up of our teacher's resources, children, and young adult books.  Gibson books can be found on the main floor, beside Learning Lab 106 (the Sandbox).

 

Reference Collection

The print Reference collection is housed in the Webster Reference Room, located on the main floor. The Reference Collection is a non-circulating collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, yearbooks, bibliographies, and other materials.

 

Periodical Collection

The print periodical collection is mainly located on the second floor of the LLC.
Main floor:
Second floor:
  • Current periodicals
  • Bound periodicals

 

Compact Storage Collection

Some of our collection is housed in Compact Storage, which is located in the LLC.  You are welcome to access Compact Storage material.  Just ask for it at the Library Services Desk.

 

Offsite Storage Collection

We have some of our collections in offsite storage. You can request these books from storage. Click here to request a book from offsite storage or see the Library Services Desk for more information.
More information
 
  • Once you've used Sofia to find the item you want, the call number can be found at the bottom of the item's record.
Bibliographic Record
 
  • A call number is a unique code given to an item that allows library users to locate the book within the library.
    • On the spine of the book or DVD, you will see a label with the call number listed. It may look like this:
    GENERAL
    HM
    621
    .G735
    2021

     

    Using the example above, here is a breakdown of how you can read the call number to find the item in the LLC:
    GENERAL On a call number, you will first read the collection/location the item is located in. If it says GENERAL, then the book is located in the General collection. If it reads REFERENCE, then the book will be located in the Reference Room.

    HM

    The next part of the call number will consist of two letters. The first letter refers to the general subject of the item, e.g. H = Social Science. The second letter further narrows in on the subject area. HM = Sociology (General). For more information on the Library of Congress Call Number Classification, see this link: https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/

    To find your call number, you will use the first letter to find the area you need in the Library. Books are shelved alphabetically based on the first letter listed, so you will follow the alphabet until you reach the section with your first letter. Then you will use the second letter to find your book. If you have found the H section, you will then see H, HA, HB, HC...until you reach HM.
    621 Once you have found the location of the letters listed above, you will use the numbers listed after the letters to find your book. The books in the HM section will now be listed chronologically based on the number you see. For example, books will be shelved: HM 1, HM 2, HM 3...HM 99, HM 100, HM 101...HM 600, HM 601...HM 620, HM 621.
    .G735 After you have found the HM 621 section, you will now use the first letter listed to find your book. You may see HM 621 .A, HM 621 .B, HM 621 .C... follow the books until you find HM 621 .G. When you have found HM 621 .G, you will now use the numbers again to find your book. You will use the same process as you used to find the previous number section.
    2021 This part of the call number just refers to the publication/copyright date. If you are looking for a specific edition of the item you are searching for, you may need to use this to see which item was published most recently.
 
  • You can request a book from another library in Canada, using our Interlibrary Loans service.
  • You can use Sofia, our online catalogue, to find which libraries have the item you are looking for.
  • If you are looking for an older resource, try using the Internet Archive, a non-profit library of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Libraries may have uploaded a digitized version of the item you are searching for.
  • If you think the library should have the book, you can always suggest a book for purchase and a librarian will consider purchasing the book for our collection.

 

Bishop's Library Homepage Sofia A-Z Databases E-Journals Interlibrary Loans Subject Research Guides Citation Guides

Hours

Today's Library Hours

Need Help?

Reference librarians are available to help students and faculty with their research!
Check the Library's Research Assistance hours (left) and come by the Library Service Desk located on the main floor of the LLC.
During Research Assistance hours, you can also chat with us using the LibChat box on this page or on our Library Home Page!
 
Contact us:
   E-mail: reference@ubishops.ca
   Telephone: (819) 822-9600 ext. 2608
   Text: (819) 201-0354