LibGuides: Medieval Literature Research Guide: Find Scholarly Articles

Suggested Journals

If you're stuck coming up with a research topic or just want to keep up with literary scholarship, you can try browsing through some core journals. However, if you really want to find articles on a topic, the best method is to search the databases featured on the right.

English Studies
Contains scholarship on all aspects of English Language and Literature
Journal of Modern Literature
Explores literature from 1900-present
Modern Philology
Scholarship spanning from Medieval to Modernist Literature
PMLA
The journal of the Modern Language Association of America publishes members' content on all aspects of language.
Review of English Studies
Covers all aspects of English Language and Literature

English Literature Databases

The best way to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on your topic is to search databases, which index content from hundreds, sometimes thousands of journals, on a topic. Here are some recommended databases for finding articles in English Literature.

Literature Resource Centre
Literature Resource Centre is Bishop's largest full-text database of English Literature articles. It provides access to bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline, covering more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most- studied authors. Available on campus only.
MLA International Bibliography
A searchable database of nearly 3 million records in modern languages and literature, including 1,000 of the most popular journals. Many records contain full-text (PDF) links. You can also “Browse Periodicals” for a publication in a specific journal and optimize your search skills by watching the videos on the “Tutorials” page.
JSTOR
Founded in 1995 in New York, JSTOR is a searchable database of 12 million records in 75 disciplines. Originally, JSTOR contained only back issues of academic journals, which is why “current” issues are often 3-5 years behind, but JSTOR is beginning to catch up and it is a good place to find key publications from past decades.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is Bishop's largest interdisciplinary database. It includes full text coverage for more than 5,300 periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. It is incredibly easy to use and great for researching interdisciplinary topics.
International Medieval Bibliography
A comprehensive bibliography of journal articles and miscellany volumes concerning the Middle Ages in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan and South Africa.
Literary Reference Center
A comprehensive literary reference database, which combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and other unique sources. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Search Journals by Title

E-journals List
Search all of our electronic journals by title

Subject Guide

Gary McCormick

Subjects: Economics, English Literature, Environmental Studies and Geography, Film and Media Studies, Political Studies

Using Sofia to request ILL

You can now request items held in any of the 17 other university libraries in Québec directly from Sofia, our new Discovery tool.

When you refine your search results with the “Bibliothèques universitaires du Québec” facet on the left-hand part of the screen, you will see your results expand. Interested in a title? By clicking the button “Request via Interlibrary Loan” and logging in with the barcode number from your student card or library card, Sofia will auto-fill the form for you.

Medieval Literature Research Guide: Find Scholarly Articles