CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index) is the primary source for journal abbreviations in chemistry. You can find it in the Science Reference area of the basement.
Chemical Abstracts Service source index
QD 1 .C5s SciRef
All that JAS : Journal Abbreviation Sources - Chemistry A registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
Click on the links to the databases below to find journal or periodical articles in chemistry and related sciences. Search for subjects, keywords or authors. If you are working from off campus, you will be prompted to enter the bar code number found on your ID card before you will be granted access.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Contains articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines on a broad range of subjects.
American Chemical Society Web Editions Online versions of more than 30 journals published or distributed by the American Chemical Society.
BioOne A small full-text database (approximately 70 journals) with articles mainly in the fields of biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Royal Society of Chemistry online journals Online versions of Royal Scoeity of Chemistry publications.
Science Direct A full text database of scholarly articles in more than 1700 journals from Elsevier.
SciFinder Scholar (For use in the Chemistry Department only) SciFinder Scholar indexes the world's literature in chemistry and related areas.
SpringerLink Searchable full text database of over 300 Springer journals, including those in chemistry and others.
Web of Science - Science Citation Index (For use within the library only) This is an index of articles in more than 5700 journals in 164 disciplines from 1998 onward.
For links to additional indexes and databases go to the library's Databases A-Z list.
Having issues finding full-text access to a journal article?
If you come across an article in a database that is not available in full-text, there are a few steps you can take to make sure.
Some databases have a "Search for full text" link that looks like this:
After clicking on that link, it will tell you if it is available in another database that Bishop's subscribes to.
If that doesn't work, don't give up! Try these steps!
1. Type the journal's title in the E-Journals search bar to find out if the journal is available in another BU database.
2. Search for the journal's title using Sofia's Advanced Search to find out if we have the journal issue in print.
3. Search for the journal title in Interlibrary loans to get a copy of the article from another institution. .
We can help you with these searching steps by visiting us at the Research Assistance desk or chatting with us. The chat box can be found on this page!