LibGuides: Film and Media Studies: Find Reference Sources

Search the Catalogue

Sofia Discovery tool
Search Sofa to find books, ebooks, journals, DVDs, and other resources available at Bishop's University.
Sofia Guide
Provides more information and instruction on how to search using Sofia.

Some Reference Databases

Oxford Reference Online
One of the most trusted reference sources available, Oxford Reference Online includes a number of dictionaries and a good amount of English Literature content.

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a fully cross-searchable online environment, covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies.
Access: On or off campus

CBCA Reference
This collection provides in-depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. The academic titles include the most prominent journals from the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and professions. Other magazines focus on opinion, public policy, children/youth, lifestyles, arts and culture, health, regional concerns, etc.

What is a Reference Source?

Reference Books are sources like encyclopedias or dictionaries that contain a large-scale overview of many subjects, often on a single topic. Reference Books are located in the reference room on the first floor of the Bishop's Library. Generally, they may be used in the library but are not available for loan. Use a reference source when you are unfamiliar with a topic and want a good introduction or when you want to find an authoritative opinion about a general topic.

A Few Recommended Reference Books

Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts by Susan Hayward
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by Roberta E. Pearson (Editor); Gill Branston (Editor); William Urricchio (Editor); Philip Simpson (Editor); David Black (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE : PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith Grant (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE : PN 1993.45 .G65 2007 and Electronic Resource
The Film Encyclopedia by Ephraim Katz
Call Number: REFERENCE : PN 1993.45 .K34 2008

Subject Guide

Gary McCormick

Subjects: Economics, English Literature, Environmental Studies and Geography, Film and Media Studies, Political Studies