LibGuides: Geospatial Data Research Guide (GIS): Books/eBooks

Locating Print Books

PRINT BOOKS

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) books are found mainly in the basement. Some books can be found on the second floor, when GIS is not the main topic of the work. All books have call numbers on their spine labels like "addresses" that identify the location and subject area of each book on the shelves, so you can browse them.

Subject and Call Number:

Data processing (GIS): G70.2

For mobile geographic information systems using satellites, see G109.4

For indoor positioning systems, see TK5103.48323

Geographic information systems: G70.212+

General works: G109

Mobile geographic information systems

Located here are general works on mobile positioning systems, including systems using artificial

satellites in navigation over land

For works on special applications of the system, see the subject, e.g., TA595.5, Satellite

surveying; TL696.A77, Artificial satellites in air navigation; VK562, Artificial satellites in ship

navigation

For works on the satellite component of the system, see TL798.N3

For geographic information systems see G70.2

Geospatial data (including geographic information systems): GN 34.3.G46

Historical geographic information systems: G70.217.H57

Marine geographic information systems: GC38.5

Remote sensing: G70.39 - G70.6

Searching for Books:

You can get started with your searching using the Sofia search box found on the Library Learning Commons' homepage. You can either get started with a Basic Search or an Advanced Search. After conducting your search you can refine your search using the limiters on the left of the screen. To limit your results to books simply check of the box "Book", "Print Book", or "eBook".

If you use Advanced Search, you can also browse the catalogue by subject:

Agriculture Climate Science Ecology Fauna / Flora Energy Sources Environnemental Monitoring Forestry Geodesy Geology	Hydrography Land use Land registry / Land Ownership Orthophoto Pedology Topography Toponymics Tourism

The Library Learning Commons uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. You can search for more LC subject headings here.

You may also want to refer yourself to the Map of Library Learning Commons, available here, as the shelving layout is a bit complex, especially on the Second Floor.

EBook Collections

EBOOKS

You can find eBooks using Sofia, but if you prefer to look at eBook databases directly, here are a list of them.

Note: The following are databases that you have access to as Bishop's students and faculty. To access off-campus, you must enter your BU user name and password.

eBooks Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to approximately 120,000 multidisciplinary eBooks from a variety of publishers including MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Sage Publications and many others.
Access: On or off campus

ProQuest eBook Central - Remote sensing & geographic information systems
A collection of full-text access to remote sensing and GIS eBooks. EBooks on other topics may also be found at this source.
Access: On or off campus

Below is a list of open-access eBook sources. These eBooks are freely available online.

The National Academic Press - Computer and Information Technology
Over 300 Computer and Information Technology eBooks that you can freely read online or download.
The Online Books Page
Full-text access to over 3 million free eBooks. EBooks are organized based on the Library of Congress call number classification system. Most GIS Books will be located around G and GA, but others may be found elsewhere, of course, when GIS is not the main topic of the work. For instance, a work about remote sensing and GIS where the main subject is the management of ecosystem may be found under QH 541.5.
W3Schools - R Language Tutorial
A free, simplified and interactive programming environment to learn to code. While W3Schools is a good place to learn programming in general, it is a great place to learn the R language.

Need Help?

Reference librarians are available to help Bishop's students and faculty with their research!

Check the Library's Research Assistance hours and come by the Library Service Desk located on the main floor of the LLC.

During Research Assistance hours, you can also chat with us using the LibChat box on this page or on our Library Home Page!

Contact us:

E-mail: reference@ubishops.ca

Telephone: (819) 822-9600 ext. 2608

Text: (819) 201-0354

Searching for eBook in Sofia

Searching for eBooks

You can also use Sofia's Advanced Search to search for eBooks.

You can select "eBook" under "Format" before searching or, after your initial search, simply select "Full Text" and "eBook" located on the left side of the screen.