These journals contain articles based on original research & are usually published by academic presses. Also called peer-reviewed, these journals have articles that have been reviewed & chosen for their quality by specialists in the field of study.
Open access journals are free or contain some articles which you can access free of charge. Others may not be free but are generally more affordable than scholarly journals from traditional publishers. Find some on the links below:
Directory of open access journals: Browse subjects under Language and literature.
Project Muse - Johns Hopkins - Multidisciplinary; you must pay for articles.
Check the Websites tab above for more journals.
To access off-campus, you must enter your BU user name and password. Safari browser NOT recommended.
Literary Indexes and Databases
A full-text literary reference database, which combines information from over 1,000 books, literary encyclopedias, reference works, and literary journals.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
MLA is an index with articles from over 3,000 journals published worldwide, plus monographs, conference papers, and reference works covering scholarship in modern languages, literature, and folklore.
Multidisciplinary Indexes and Databases
Full text articles, many from peer-reviewed journals and access to over 120,000 e-books from academic publishers such as Oxford University, Cambridge University etc. Covers all areas of academic study. Use Subject Terms to find best search terms.
Full-text subject or theme based collections covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies.
Full-text of humanities and social sciences journals, mainly in the French language.
Full-text archival database (back issues) of academic journals including the humanities.
Full-text backfiles (1802-1995) of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Topics include the philosophy of language, etc.; includes more than 300 full text journals; also full-text access to over 120,000 multi-disciplinary e-books from academic publishers such as Oxford University, Cambridge University etc.
First try following the links available in the database record. Look for this logo and click on it when you are in the database: 
Still no luck? Don't give up. Try these 3 steps or visit the Research Assistance Desk in the Reference Room:
1. Type the journal title in the box below to find out if the article is available in another BU database.
The system will tell you if Bishop's library users have access to that title and what issues are available, and will provide a link to the journal in the appropriate database(s).
2. Search for the journal title in Sofia to find out if we have the journal issue in print. Latest issues are in the Periodicals Room to the left of the lobby; previous years are in the basement.
3. Search for the journal title in Interlibrary loans to get a copy of the article from another institution. Ask for help using this free service at the Reference Desk.