Champlain Resource Guide: Finding Books in the LLC
This guide is to help Champlain students and faculty access and use the resources available to them at the Bishop's Library Learning Commons (LLC) and other off-campus institutions.
General books are located throughout the Library Learning Commons (LLC); however, the majority of our General books are located on the basement floor. Below are the call number locations based on the first letters of the call number:
The Gibson collection is made up of our teacher's resources, children, and young adult books. Gibson books can be found on the main floor, beside Learning Lab 106 (the Sandbox).
Reference Collection
The print Reference collection is housed in the Webster Reference Room, located on the main floor. The Reference Collection is a non-circulating collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, yearbooks, bibliographies, and other materials.
Periodical Collection
The print periodical collection is mainly located on the secondfloor of the LLC.
Some of our collection is housed in Compact Storage, which is located in the LLC. You are welcome to access Compact Storage material. Just ask for it at the Library Services Desk.
You can use WorldCat, an online catalogue, to find which libraries have the item you are looking for.
If you are looking for an older resource, try using the Internet Archive, a non-profit library of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Libraries may have uploaded a digitized version of the item you are searching for.
If you think the library should have the book, you can alwayssuggest a book for purchase and a librarian will consider purchasing the book for our collection.
