These journals contain articles based on original research & are usually published by academic presses. Also called peer-reviewed, these journals have articles that have been reviewed & chosen for their quality by specialists in the field of study.
Open access journals are free or contain some articles which you can access free of charge. Others may not be free but are generally more affordable than scholarly journals from traditional publishers. Find some on the link below:
Project Muse: Music: Journals - Johns Hopkins - Multidisciplinary; you must pay for articles.
For other online journals, see Research under the Websites tab above.
To access off-campus, enter your BU user name and password. Best viewed in Firefox or Google Chrome.
Music Indexes
Canadian Music Periodicals Index (Library and Archives Canada)
Index of articles from Canadian music periodicals from late 19th century to present from journals, newsletters and magazines, many currently active. Since 1999, articles on international music and musicians, published in Canadian periodicals, have been included.
Indexes over 700 international music periodicals, covering all styles and genres of music, musicians and the music industry; includes e-books.
Multidisciplinary Indexes and Databases
Full-text archival database (back issues) of academic journals including the humanities.
Other databases to use:
Full text articles, many from peer-reviewed journals; e-books. Covers all areas of academic study including music. Use Subject Terms to find best search terms.
Full text of 20 major Canadian daily newspapers, plus our local daily, The Record.
Includes academic titles from the humanities.
Full-text of humanities and social sciences journals, mainly in the French language.
Full-text backfiles (1802-1995) of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
First, try following the links available in the database record. Look for this logo and click on it when you are in the database: 
Still no luck? Don't give up. Try these 3 steps or visit the Research Assistance Desk in the Reference Room:
1. Type the journal title in the box below to find out if the article is available in another BU database.
The system will tell you if Bishop's library users have access to that title and what issues are available, and will provide a link to the journal in the appropriate database(s).
2. Search for the journal title in Sofia to find out if we have the journal issue in print. Latest issues are in the Periodicals Room to the left of the lobby; previous years are in the basement.
3. Search for the journal title in Interlibrary loans to get a copy of the article from another institution. Ask for help using this free service at the Reference Desk.