Contents:
Canadian Resources Dictionaries and Glossaries
General Music Gateways Necrology (Who Was Who)
Popular Music, including Recordings Research, including Dissertations and Theses
Sheet Music and Scores, including Composers Free Blank Sheet Music To Print
Sound and Theme Databases Women
University Music Libraries (Quebec)
______________________________________________________________________________________________
CANADIAN RESOURCES
Canada’s largest collection of concert music. Over 15,000 scores available for loan (search for them under Find a Score) and over 700 CDs are available for sale. Find a Composer includes biographies.
Canadian Music Links - Institute for Canadian Music – University of Toronto
Extensive collection including music journals and publications available online, and bibliographies.
Canadian Music Periodical Index - National Library of Canada
Index of articles from Canadian music periodicals, with nearly 30,000 entries on articles dating from the late 19th century to the present. 500 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented, almost 200 of which are currently active. Since 1999, significant articles on international music and musicians, published in Canadian periodicals, have been included.
The Canadian Encyclopedia (includes the former Encyclopedia of Music in Canada)
Earlier print edition available in the Music Reference section (ML 106 .C3 E52 1992).
Music Archives at the National Library of Canada - Library and Archives Canada
Important source for Canadian musical history including print, recorded sound & video and manuscripts. Some of its important fonds include those of Claude Champagne, Glenn Gould, Sir Ernest MacMillan, Oskar Morawetz, R. Murray Schafer, Oscar Peterson, Randy Bachman, André Prévost, Alfred LaLiberté, Jim Vallance, the Canadian Music Council and CAMMAC.
SOCAN – Society of Composers, Authors, and Music Publishers of Canada
Performing rights organization licenses public performance of copyright protected music in Canada and distributes royalties. Find full-text access to their journal, Words & Music, and, under Resource/Education, find a complete list of music schools in Canada, as well as industry publications and online education links.
Theses Canada Portal
Search for bibliographic records of all theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives Canada collection, many full-text. Includes information on how to find a thesis.
Virtual Gramophone - Library and Archives Canada
Canadian historical sound recordings of the 78-rpm era in Canada; audio files, historical and biographical information etc.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DICTIONARIES
Includes sound files with musical terms for correct pronunciation, illustrations, photos and video examples.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
GENERAL MUSIC GATEWAYS
Sibelius Academy Music Resources
Includes Music Magazines and Music Theory and Research.
Classical Music Navigator
Overview to classical composers and styles, has 5 subject areas: Composers, Basic Library of Notable Works, Geographical Roster, Index of Forms and Styles of Music, and Glossary. The Composers section includes musical influences.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
NECROLOGY
Musicians Necrology - Gaylord Music Library, Washington University
“Who was who” of international music. Brief citations include occupation, birth and death dates, & related web addresses
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
POPULAR MUSIC
Biographies and discographies of composers and musicians in all genres.
Sign up, search and listen to virtually any song for free.
IBDB, Internet Broadway Database
Official database for Broadway theatre information from its beginnings to the present.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________
RESEARCH, INCLUDING THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Indiana University. Jacobs School of Music. Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
Includes databases of historical music theory treatises (full-text), such as Texts on Music in English from the Medieval and Early Modern Eras.
Online Resources for Music Scholars – Edna Kuhn Loeb Music Library of the Harvard College Library
Includes online journals and newspapers, including some full-text. Extensive list of digital music collection links.
Theses Canada Portal
Search for bibliographic records of all theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives Canada collection, many full-text. Includes information on how to find a thesis.
WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists American Musicological Society
Full-text online journals are found under Journals, Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
SHEET MUSIC AND SCORES (for titles beyond what's in Sofia or in our database Classical Scores Library ; also try the library's CD-ROM series of scores in the Music Room found in Sofia under CD Sheet Music.)
Best place to start: IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
Other links to comprehensive websites dedicated to individual composers in addition to what can be found in IMSLP:
Brahms Chopin
Choral Wiki: Choral Public Domain Library
Also includes texts, translations and information on composers.
Works may also be available with MP3, MIDI or video files.
Historic American Sheet Music Collection
From Duke University
Historic Sheet Music Collection, 1800-1922
Over 7,000 works from the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music – Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Johns Hopkins University
American popular music from 1780-1960; retrieve full-text pre-1923.
Classical and contemporary.
Collections from UC Los Angeles, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University and Duke University.
Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores
Over 12,000 free public-domain music scores; specializes in rare titles; from the largest academic music library in North America at the University of Rochester. Foreign language titles are not translated.
Variations Prototype : Online Musical Scores – Cook Music Library, University of Indiana
A collection of online musical scores in the public domain freely available from the Cook Music Library’s holdings. The site is subdivided into the following categories, Opera, Songs, Orchestral and Choral, Chamber, Piano, and Solo Instrumental. Composers are arranged alphabetically under each category.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
SOUND AND THEME DATABASES
Search and download free sound effects and examples of musical instruments.
Musipedia: the Open Music Encyclopedia
Search collections of tunes, melodies and musical themes.
Themefinder Stanford University
Search themes under Classical, Folksong and Renaissance repertories or by Composer.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
WOMEN
International Alliance for Women in Music
Publications, websites, competitions, conferences, etc. Under Resources find biographical information links and full-text articles from the IAWM Journal.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
UNIVERSITY MUSIC LIBRARIES (QUEBEC)
Bibliothèque de musique – Université de Montréal
Bibliothèque de musique – Université de Québec à Montréal
Marvin Duchow Music Library – McGill University
Find books, etc. under the top left tab "Trouver des ..." Bishop's music students may borrow items from the music library at Sherbrooke University.