LibGuides: Computer Science Research Guide: Articles

Find Articles

The following are databases that you have access to as Bishop's students and faculty. To access off-campus, you must enter your BU user name and password.

Computer Science Indexes and Databases:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
Access: On or off campus
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of approximately 1000 periodicals and indexing and abstracting of about 2,200 publications covering the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.
Access: On or off campus
Infotrac Computer Database This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Computer Database is a computer database containing more than 316,000 full-text articles relating to computer science and business. It is available from the Library’s homepage.
Access: Campus only

Other Science or Multidisciplinary Indexes and Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 5,300 periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals.
Access: On or off campus
Emerald This link opens in a new window
The Emerald database provides full-text access to the MCB University Press online journal collection. Among the subjects covered are management, information studies, human resources, marketing, etc.
Access: Campus only
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 500 journals in business, the humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
Access: On or off campus
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1995 to the present of over 1700 full-text journals. Subject coverage includes biology, business and accounting, computer science, environmental science, mathematics, psychology and more.
Access: On or off campus
Springer Nature LINK This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text database of over 300 Springer journals, in the areas of chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, law, life sciences and mathematics.
Access: On or off campus

Open Access Journals

Open access journals contain some or all articles which you can access free of charge. Some open access journals are peer-review, but not all, so it is important to evaluate open-access sources.

CiteSeerx: Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine
Index to science journal articles, papers and reports including computer science; many links to full-text.
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
An index to computer science citations from journals, conference papers and technical reports clustered in about 1500 bibliographies. Also grouped by subject.
DBLP - Computer Science Journals
A list of Computer Science journal that allows you to access volume and issues of the journals listed.
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
An index to journals and proceedings. Originally focused on database systems and logic programming (DBLP), it has expanded to other fields of computer science. The default search is Author; see Faceted or Complete search screens for other options.

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 9000 Open Access Journals in multiple subject areas and languages.
Access: On or off campus

arXiv
An archive of open-access scholarly articles,

What is a Scholarly Journal?

These journals contain articles based on original research & are usually published by academic presses. Also called peer-reviewed, these journals have articles that have been reviewed & chosen for their quality by specialists in the field of study.

Accessing Full-Text Articles

Having issues finding full-text access to a journal article?

If you come across an article in a database that is not available in full-text, there are a few steps you can take to make sure.

Some databases have a "Search for full text" link that looks like this:

After clicking on that link, it will tell you if it is available in another database that Bishop's subscribes to.

If that doesn't work, don't give up! Try these steps!

1. Type the journal's title in the E-Journals search bar to find out if the journal is available in another BU database.

The system will tell you if Bishop's University library users have access to that title and what issues are available, and will provide a link to the journal in the appropriate database or databases.

2. Search for the journal's title using Sofia's Advanced Search to find out if we have the journal issue in print.

For more information about searching for print journals see our page Using Sofia: Journals, Newspapers and Magazines

3. Search for the journal title in Interlibrary loans to get a copy of the article from another institution. .

We can help you with these searching steps by visiting us at the Research Assistance desk or chatting with us. The chat box can be found on this page!