The Reference Room is located to the right of the library lobby. Use reference books to:
Search tip: Find reference works by placing b8:Reference in the Sofia search bar. Example: su:(Computer Science) AND b8:Reference.
Encyclopedia of Algorithms by
One of Springer's renowned Major Reference Works, this awesome achievement provides a comprehensive set of solutions to important algorithmic problems for students and researchers interested in quickly locating useful information. This first edition of the reference focuses on high-impact solutions from the most recent decade, while later editions will widen the scope of the work. All entries have been written by experts, while links to Internet sites that outline their research work are provided. The entries have all been peer-reviewed. This defining reference is published both in print and on line.
Computer Science and Computing by
As computers have infiltrated virtually every facet of our lives, so has computer science influenced nearly every academic subject in science, engineering, medicine, social science, the arts and humanities. Michael Knee offers a selective guide to the major resources and tools central to the entire industry. A discussion of three commonly used subject classification systems precedes an annotated bibliography of over 500 items. As computers have infiltrated virtually every facet of our lives, so has computer science influenced nearly every academic subject in science, engineering, medicine, social science, the arts and humanities. Michael Knee offers a selective guide to the major resources and tools central to the computer industry: teaching institutions, research institutes and laboratories, manufacturers, standardization organizations, professional associations and societies, and publishers. He begins with a discussion of the three subject classification systems most commonly used to describe, index, and manage computer science information: the Association for Computing Machinery, Inspec, and the Library of Congress. An annotated bibliography of over 500 items follows, grouped by material type, and featuring a mix of classic works and current sources.
Milestones in Computer Science and Information Technology by
Using the same approach as the popular Milestones in Science and Technology and Milestones in Health and Medicine, this unique reference features more than 600 concise entries describing the most significant advances in the field of computer science and information technology. Arranged in a convenient A-to-Z format, entries explain topics in a wide variety of categories, including hardware, software, theory, mathematics, programming, languages, memory, architecture, applications, and graphics. Each entry presents a history of the topic's milestones, describes its current status, and recommends a source for additional research. Entries link key developments and discoveries to notable researchers and companies, from the famous figures like Alan Turing and Bill Gates to lesser-known names like Gordon Moore and Zuse. More than 30 illustrations, helpful cross-references, four indexes, and selected sources for additional reading help users navigate this reference and supplement their research. Whether you're researching cutting-edge technologies such as MP3, data encryption, and Beowulf clusters, or historical topics like Fortran, Packard Bell, and the Alto computer, students from high school and college, scholars, and the general public can easily find the facts and dates surrounding the most significant developments in the history of computing.
Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History by
First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by
Covering more than basic computer commands and procedures, this encyclopaedia summarizes how technology has developed, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components. Following an introduction and overview, there are approximately 750 to 800 entries.
Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics by
The importance of discrete and combinatorial mathematics continues to increase as the range of applications to computer science, electrical engineering, and the biological sciences grows dramatically. Providing a ready reference for practitioners in the field, the Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics, Second Editionpresents additional material on Google's matrix, random graphs, geometric graphs, computational topology, and other key topics. New chapters highlight essential background information on bioinformatics and computational geometry. Each chapter includes a glossary, definitions, facts, examples, algorithms, major applications, and references.
Encyclopedia of Information Systems by
The Encyclopedia of Information Systems provides essential answers to questions increasingly asked by people in all walks of life. People can no longer claim that information about computer viruses, for example, is unimportant to their work, or that advances in speech recognition and encryption will leave them unaffected. The Encyclopedia is therefore more useful than one might suspect to people well beyond the walls of information systems departments. Offering both general and technical information about major elements, issues, opinions, and key studies, as well as cross-references to related subjects, it captures the dynamic growth and complexity unique to our era.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Computer Graphics by
Elsevier's Dictionary of Computer Graphics contains 10,540 terms with more than 2,600 cross-references that are commonly used in the theory and practice of computer graphics. Included are terms from all areas related to a) the theory of computer graphics - descriptive geometry, projective geometry, topology, fractal geometry, color science; and b) the practice of computer graphics - computer-aided design (CAD) systems, technical drawing, computer art, computer animation, business graphics, scientific visualization, virtual reality, graphical programming, image processing, graphical computer devices. As well as the commonly used terms in the above-mentioned areas, the dictionary also includes terms that are currently coming into use, especially in the areas of computer-aided design systems, computer art, computer animation, virtual reality and graphical programming. Elsevier's Dictionary of Computer Graphics will be a valuable tool for engineers, scientists, artists, students and for everyone who takes an interest in computer graphics.
Dictionary of Computer Vision and Image Processing by
The definitive guide for professionals working with computer vision, image processing and multimedia applications Developments in computer vision, image analysis and image processing are progressing at a remarkable rate. The breadth of applications is vast, covering a range of subject areas from physics and mathematics to multimedia communications and biometrics. The Dictionary of Computer Vision and Image Processing is a clearly written tool for navigating the latest terminology, concepts and technologies in these established areas of growth. Capturing a snapshot of the subject through its vocabulary, this dictionary: presents a comprehensive and authoritative reference for all computer-vision practitioners; contains more than 2,500 key terms and 400 illustrations on computer vision, image analysis and image processing; provides extensive cross-referencing to guide the reader through new or less commonly encountered terms. The Dictionary of Computer Vision and Image Processing is an indispensable resource for experienced professionals and advanced level students working in computer vision, image processing and multimedia applications. In addition, novice and intermediate level users of computer vision technology will find it an extremely useful reference tool.
McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Networking and Telecommunications by
"Authoritative and up-to-date, this book and CD-ROM package is filled with thousands of explanations and analyses of core and cutting-edge networking and telecommunications topics - from Abilene to QoS to ZAWS. Extensive cross-referencing throughout helps you understand the relationship among the technologies. This is a resource for every network professional, as well as technology investors, marketing managers, head hunters, technology writers, and anyone interested in networking. The book also includes the most comprehensive guide to Internet engineering documents (RFCs) available today."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved